Dr. Brugarolas

Video clip commemorating V Foundation Award.
James Brugarolas, M.D., Ph.D.

James Brugarolas, M.D., Ph.D. is a tenured Associate Professor in the Division of Hematology/Oncology of the Department of Internal Medicine. He is a Virginia Murchison Linthicum Scholar in Medical Research and the founding leader of the Kidney Cancer Program at the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr, Brugarolas is also the principal investigator of the UT Southwestern Kidney Cancer SPORE.

Dr. Brugarolas received his medical degree from the University of Navarra, Spain (1993), and his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1998). He did an internship and residency in internal medicine at Duke University Medical Center, and subsequently a fellowship in oncology at a combined program of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital. In 2003, he became an instructor at Harvard Medical School.

In 2006, Dr. Brugarolas joined UT Southwestern Medical Center to build an innovative kidney cancer program. The goal of the program is to understand the fundamental biology of renal cancer and create a platform to bring discoveries from the laboratory into the clinic. Highlights of the research program include (i) the discovery that the BAP1 gene is inactivated in 15% of clear cell renal cell carcinomas (ccRCCs), (ii) the establishment of a foundation for the first molecular genetic classification of sporadic ccRCC, (iii) the implication of the TSC1 gene as a tumor suppressor in ccRCC and a putative predictor of responsiveness to mTORC1 inhibitors clinically, (iv) the characterization of a feedback loop that links the two dominant pathways in renal cancer, (v) the identification of a novel effector of mTORC1, (vi) the development of the first animal model of renal cancer that reproduces the treatment responsiveness in patients, and (vii) the determination that mTORC1 inhibitors have activity against epithelioid angiomyolipomas.

Dr. Brugarolas is a member of the Renal Task Force of the Genitourinary Steering Committee of the National Cancer Institute. He is an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and has received numerous awards including a V Scholar Award (V Foundation), a Research Scholar Award (American Cancer Society), a Basil O’Connor Award (March of Dimes Foundation) and a Claudia Adams Barr Award (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School). He has served in multiple study sections and ad hoc review panels of the National Cancer Institute, the American Cancer Society, and the US Army Medical Research Command.